The products of the secondary dairy industry can be classified in the following categories :

  • Pasteurised and ultra-pasteurised milk
  • Long life or ultra-high temperature treated (UHT) milk
  • Condensed and evaporated milk
  • Pasteurised and UHT cream
  • Yoghurt
  • Buttermilk and buttermilk powder
  • Maas and other fermented milk
  • Whey and whey powder
  • Cheese
  • Butter
  • Milk powder

The health and nutritional advantages associated with the consumption of dairy products are acknowledged world wide

The production of dairy products involves high value addition to the basic input, namely raw milk through the use of sophisticated manufacturing producedures and logistics involving trained personnel, expensive capital equipment and high levels of quality control

The dairy industry is subject to strict food safety and product quality standards set out in different regulations promulgated in terms of different acts

The dairy industry voluntarily promotes high food safety and product quality standards in the dairy industry through especially the Dairy Standards Agency (DSA).  DSA is a section 21 company that was established by the organised dairy industry (including SAMPRO) and the National Consumers’ Union that promotes, as independent, expert and objective body, the application of high standards in the dairy industry.